Lauren Depew

NFPA recognizes communities’ longevity and success as they celebrate the 10th anniversary of 20 official Firewise communities

Blog Post created by Lauren Depew Employee on May 24, 2012

NFPA’s Firewise Communities/USA® Recognition Program is honoring 20 official Firewise communities from 11 states who celebrate their 10-year anniversary of continued participation and successes in reducing wildfire risks. The communities became nationally recognized in 2003, and were among the earliest adopters of the Firewise Communities/USA process.

FirewiseThe following communities are celebrating their 10-year anniversaries of active participation as Firewise Communities/USA sites:

  • Holiday Island, Arkansas
  • Joplin, Arkansas
  • Norman, Arkansas
  • Story, Arkansas
  • Lakewood, Florida
  • Verandah, Florida
  • Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa,      Minnesota
  • River Run Plantation, North Carolina
  • Town of St. James, North Carolina
  • Village of Ruidoso, New Mexico
  • Bear Creek Lakes, Pennsylvania
  • Mountain Plains I & II, South Dakota
  • Cumberland Cove, Tennessee
  • Tierra Linda Ranch, Texas
  • Wildcatter Ranch and Resort, Texas
  • Chuckanut Ridge POA, Washington
  • Lummi Island Scenic Estates, Washington
  • Story, Wyoming
  • Union Pass, Wyoming

Each community will receive a special flame-shaped glass award in honor of their long-term commitment to community wildfire safety.

More information about the Firewise Communities/USA Recognition Program and a complete list of official Firewise Communities/USA sites can be found on the Firewise website.