Apply for FEMA’s 2014 Individual and Community Preparedness Awards

Blog Post created by cathyprudhomme Employee on Apr 18, 2014

  Photo Individual and Community Preparedness Awards - April 2014                                Photo:  Montana Mitigation Bus Tour

Thousands of communities nationwide have implemented wildfire preparedness efforts that make them outstanding applicants for the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Individual and Community Preparedness Awards.  At NFPA, we hear amazing success stories about outstanding efforts implemented by participants in the Firewise Communities/USA Program and about communities implementing Fire Adapted Communities initiatives.

The awards highlight innovative local practices and achievements by recognizing individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions toward making their communities safer, stronger and better prepared. Acknowledge the work you or someone you know has done to build a more resilient nation. 

To be considered for this year’s awards, applications must be received by May 30, 2014 and need to feature program activities that took place from January 1, 2013 to May 30, 2014. These awards are an opportunity to recognize the individual and organizations working hard at making where they live a safer place.

Award categories include:

  • Community Preparedness Heroes
  • Outstanding Youth Preparedness Initiatives
  • Awareness to Action
  • Preparing the Whole Community

Winners will be announced during fall 2014 and will be FEMA’s honored guests at a community preparedness roundtable event.

We encourage communities to apply today!