176 communities added to national Firewise Communities/USA program

Blog Post created by cathyprudhomme Employee on Jan 9, 2017

Barton Creek Lakeside, Firewise Community
Residents working towards reducing their wildfire risks within 176 communities, achieved national recognition for their accomplishments through the National Fire Protection Association’s Firewise Communities/USA program in 2016.


They now join communities throughout 41 states that annually complete a required set of renewal criteria to remain a participant. The grassroots efforts implemented in these sites demonstrates the homeowner’s commitment to make important contributions in making their investments better prepared for when wildfires occur. There’s currently 1,388 active recognized Firewise sites located in wildland/urban interface areas where wildfire risks exist.


States adding the most new Firewise communities during the recent calendar year include the following:

Washington:  32

Colorado:  23

Oregon:  23

California:  18

Arkansas:  13


The program’s original nine communities were recently acknowledged for 15 years of continuous participation. Reaching the 15-year milestone speaks volumes about the dedication and determination residents have in completing mitigation projects within commonly-owned areas and in their property’s home ignition zones.


Learn more about how residents can proactively impact their home’s individual survivability during future wildfires - and consider leading your neighbors in the Firewise collaborative process that increases their property’s chances of not being destroyed or damaged.