2017 Wildfire Mitigation Awardees announced

Blog Post created by cathyprudhomme Employee on Jan 18, 2017

Wildfire Mitigation Award Sponsors

Recipients of the annual 2017 Wildfire Mitigation Awards, the highest commendation for innovation and leadership by individuals and organizations committed to wildfire mitigation - includes fourteen individuals/organizations.


The awards were established in 2014 and are sponsored by the National Association of State Foresters (NASF), the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the USDA Forest Service (USFS) and will be presented at the IAFC Wildland Urban Interface Conference (WUI) in Reno, NV on March 22, 2017.


Those being honored for their exemplary commitment to community wildfire risk reduction include:

Bob Betts:  Prescott Area Wildland Urban Interface Commission, Prescott, Arizona

Brianna Binnebose:  Utah Division of Forestry, Fire and State Lands

Heather Campbell:  Pollock Pines Fire Safe Council, Pollock Pines, California

Chief Walton Daugherty:  City of Helotes Fire Department, Helotes, Texas

Joanne Drummond:  Fire Safe Council of Nevada County, Grass Valley, California

Ann Hogan:  Town of Riverview, Wisconsin

John T. Mele:  Snowmass Wildcat Fire Protection District, Snowmass Village, Colorado

Pete Padelford:  Blue Lake Springs Homeowners Association, Arnold, California

Rebecca Samulski:  FireWise of Southwest Colorado, Dolores, Colorado

Bryan Schaffler:  USDA Forest Service

Jim Tencza:  FireWise of Southwest Colorado, Bayfield, Colorado

City of Borger, Texas

Santa Fe Fire Department, Wildland Division, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Yarnell Fire Mitigation Cooperative:  Yarnell, Arizona