Wildfire Mitigation and Legacy Awards presented at Reno conference

Blog Post created by lisamariesinatra Employee on Mar 23, 2017

WUI, wildfire, wildfire awards, wildfire conference,

A handful of NFPA staff are attending the Wildland-Urban Interface Conference (WUI) in Reno, Nevada this week to network with and learn from peers from across the country on a wide-range of wildfire topics including forest protection, safety and preparedness, land management, and more. During the conference, there was a special presentation announcing the winners of the 2017 Wildfire Mitigation Awards. NFPA is pleased to help announce the names of the recipients. They are:

• Ann Hogan (Town of Riverview, Wisconsin)
• Bob Betts (Prescott Area Wildland Urban Interface Commission, Prescott, Arizona)
• Brianna Binnebose (Utah Division of Forestry, Fire and State Lands)
• Brian Schaffler (USDA Forest Service)
• Chief Walton Daugherty (City of Helotes Fire Department, Helotes, Texas)
• City of Borger, Texas
• Heather Campbell (Pollock Pines Fire Safe Council, Pollock Pines, California)
• Jim Tencza (FireWise of Southwest Colorado, Bayfield, Colorado)
• Joanne Drummond (Fire Safe Council of Nevada County, Grass Valley, California)
• John T. Mele (Snowmass Wildcat Fire Protection District, Snowmass Village, Colorado)
• Pete Padelford (Blue Lake Springs Homeowners Association, Arnold, California)
• Rebecca Samulski (FireWise of Southwest Colorado, Dolores, Colorado)
• Santa Fe Fire Department Wildland Division (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
• Yarnell Fire Mitigation Cooperative (Yarnell, Arizona)

In case you weren’t aware, the awards were established in 2014 and are the highest commendation for innovation and leadership displayed by individuals and organizations committed to wildfire mitigation. Know someone (or a group of people) whose work deserves recognition? Consider nominating them during next year’s nomination period!

In addition, Jack Cohen, USDA Forest Service retiree, received the 2017 Wildfire Mitigation Legacy Award for his work in developing the science behind many effective wildland-fire mitigation concepts used today across North America. For many who know Jack and his work, this award is well deserved.

The awards are sponsored by the National Association of State Foresters (NASF), the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), NFPA, and the USDA Forest Service (USFS). Learn more by visiting NASF's website, and stay tuned for more details on next year’s award nomination details!


Photo (L to R): Chief John Sinclair, President, IAFC; Vicki Christiansen, Deputy Chief of State and Private Forestry, USDA Forest Service; Jack Cohen, USDA Forest Service retiree, Lorraine Carli, Vice President for Outreach & Advocacy, NFPA; Jim Karels, NASF and Florida state forester.