NFPA launches first of its kind wildfire certification

Blog Post created by twelle Employee on Feb 26, 2018

Certified Wildfire Mitigation Specialist logo


Although there are many practitioners working in the field with titles such as Wildland/Urban Interface Specialist, Wildfire Mitigation Specialist, Wildfire Prevention officer, etc., there is no certification that standardizes some body of knowledge, gives professional credibility and validates the specialized talent in this area...until now.


The National Fire Protection Association, (NFPA), has launched a new certification that is the first of its kind nationally.  The Certified Wildfire Mitigation Specialist, (CWMS), launched Feb. 1, 2018 to help give those working in wildfire risk reduction and preparedness national recognition and an initial standard for certification.


This program provides a three year certification utilizing an applicant's background, experience and study in areas such as:

  • wildfire behavior science
  • home ignition science
  • public education practices
  • land use planning
  • hazard mitigation and preparedness 


Once certified, continuing education is required over the three years to maintain certification.  Related training, professional practices such as community/home wildfire risk assessments, teaching pertinent courses or training and writing articles within the scope of the field and more, all count towards re-certification.


Professionals from around the country were given the opportunity to voluntarily serve on the Certification Advisory Group, (CAG), to provide their input to the body of knowledge, overall scope and blueprint of the certification and to write the exam questions.


The certification also has application for professionals working in urban forestry, landscaping and the insurance industry who work in and around Wildland/Urban fire risk areas.


So if you are interested in building your professional resume or promoting your knowledge around wildfire mitigation and preparedness, then check out the CWMS certification.  All the information you will need can be found here.