Ten recipients honored for contributions to community wildfire protection  

Blog Post created by cathyprudhomme Employee on Feb 28, 2018


During the Wildfire Mitigation Awards ceremony on February 28, held at the Wildland Urban Interface Conference in Reno, NV, nine recipients from five states were recognized for their exemplary work to reduce wildfire risks. The awards are sponsored by the National Association of State Foresters (NASF), the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), and the USDA Forest Service (USFS).


Established in 2014, the awards are the highest commendation for innovation and leadership displayed by individuals and organizations committed to wildfire mitigation.


Recognizing the comprehensive challenges posed by wildfires, these awards applaud the outstanding dedication to wildfire mitigation across a broad spectrum of activities and among a variety of individuals and organizations. By honoring their achievements, the award sponsors seek to increase public recognition and awareness of the value and importance of wildfire mitigation efforts.


Recipients of the 2018 national Wildfire Mitigation Awards include:

  • Abby Watkins, Newaygo County Emergency Services, White Cloud, Michigan
  • Blue Mountain Forest Stewardship Initiative, Golden, Colorado
  • Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, Durango, Colorado
  • Grizzly Flats Fire Safe Council, Grizzly Flats, California
  • Jeff Dunning, Allstate Insurance, Grass Valley, California
  • Jesse Cox, Trinity County Fire Safe Council, Weaverville, California
  • Pat McKelvey, Tri-County Firesafe Working Group, Helena, Montana
  • Project Wildfire, Deschutes County (Bend), OR
  • Rincon Fire Department, Valley Center, California


In addition to the nine mitigation awards, Christina Randall was posthumously awarded the National Legacy Award. Randall was the wildfire mitigation administrator for the City of Colorado Springs Fire Department, where she'd worked for fourteen years. Prior to CSFD, she worked for the USDA Forest Service in multiple roles for nineteen years.The award spotlighted her outstanding contributions to reducing wildfire risks in Colorado Springs and also through the many national wildfire committees she served on. CSFD’s Fire Marshal Brett Lacey accepted the award.