Winners of 2012 William M. Carey and Ronald K. Mengel awards announced

Blog Post created by mikehazell Employee on May 24, 2012

The Fire Protection Research Foundation has announced the winners of the 2012 William M. Carey and Ronald K. Mengel awards.

The 2012 Ronald K. Mengel Award for outstanding detection paper goes to John Bullough, Y. Zhu, and N. Narendran of the Lighting Research Center at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute for “Characteristics of Light-Emitting Diode Sources: Relevance for Visual Signal Detection.” 

The 2012 William M. Carey Award for best suppression paper was awarded to Rajesh Melkote UTC Climate Controls and Security, and Liangzhen Wang and Nicolas Robinet of Kidde France for “Next Generation Fluorine-Free Firefighting Foams.”

The awards will be presented next year at the 2013 Suppression, Detection and Signaling Research and Applications (SUPDET) conference, the Foundation’s annual technical working conference on suppression and detection research, and applications. The winners are chosen based on a vote by participants and presented with the awards the following year.

William M. Carey, a former senior staff engineer at Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., participated in many Foundation fire suppression projects, including the first: The National Quick Response Sprinkler Project. Throughout his career, he was often known for being "the bridge" between research and application of new fire safety knowledge.

Ronald K. Mengel, for years the vice president of industry affairs of the system sensor division of Honeywell Corporation, had a long and distinguished career in fire protection. He was instrumental in Honeywell’s efforts in industry-sponsored research and training. Mengel contributed to a number of Foundation projects and served on the Foundation’s Fire Detection and Alarm Research Advisory Council.