NFPA awards scholarships to fire safety students

Blog Post created by ryan.quinn Employee on Jul 25, 2013

The NFPA Fire Safety Educational Memorial Fund Committee awarded scholarships to four students who have exhibited academic excellence and great interest in rescue, fire and life safety and engineering.

Scholarship Winners
From left to right, Catherine Hamel, Justin Beal, Richard Emberley, and Christine Pongratz.

The scholarships are awarded each year to recognize students for their pursuit of careers in these fields.

The Arthur E. Cote and David B. Gratz scholarships were awarded to Catherine Hamel, a student at the University of Maryland and Richard Emberley, who is a Ph.D. student The University of Queensland in Australia.

Christine Pongratz, a student at the University of Maryland and Justin Beal, who studies at Columbia Southern University, earned the John L. Jablonsky and George D. Miller scholarships respectively.

Congrats to all of this year’s winners! Get a further look at each scholarship winner in the latest NFPA release.