NFPA President James M. Shannon honored by Metropolitan Fire Chiefs Association

Blog Post created by laurenbackstrom Employee on Jun 4, 2014

!|src=|alt=Metro Chiefs Awards|style=width: 206px;|title=Metro Chiefs Awards|class=asset asset-image at-xid-6a014e86dfab17970d01a3fd178ede970b img-responsive!

NFPA President James Shannon and Metro Chiefs President Keith Bryant


The Metropolitan Fire Chiefs (Metro) Association honored NFPA president James M. Shannon with the Metro President’s Award of Distinction and the special Metro designation of Honorary Metro Fire Chief earlier this week. 

The President’s Award of Distinction is presented to a person who has gone above and beyond to promote Metro values and its mission. Honorary Metro Fire Chief status is reserved for non-members who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in fire and life safety. In the Metro’s 49-year history, Shannon is the second person to receive this honor following former NFPA President George Miller.

Shannon will conclude his 12-year tenure as NFPA president in June, with a legacy of support for the nation’s fire service. Under his leadership, NFPA has considerably advanced its mission of fire safety, better protecting the general public and members of the fire service.