Fire Protection Research Foundation announces winners of the 2016 William M. Carey and Ronald K. Mengel Awards

Blog Post created by laurenbackstrom Employee on Oct 20, 2016

Research Foundation logoThe Fire Protection Research Foundation recently announced winners of the 2015 William M. Carey and Ronald K. Mengel awards. The award winners were selected by participants at the Foundation’s 2016 Suppression, Detection and Signaling Research and Applications Symposium (SUPDET). Recipients will receive their awards at the 2017 SUPDET Symposium, September 12-14, in College Park, Maryland.


Christina Francis won the 2016 William M. Carey Award for her outstanding paper entitled, “New Technology for Sprinklered High-Challenge Warehouses.” The award recognizes the best suppression presentation, as voted by attendees of SUPDET. 


Joseph Fleming, deputy fire chief for the Boston Fire Department, and Vytenis Babrauskas, of Fire Science and Technology Inc., won the 2016 Ronald K. Mengel Award for their exceptional paper entitled, “Improving Data Collection of Smoke Alarms in Fires.” The award recognizes the best detection presentation, as declared by SUPDET Symposium participants.


For more information on these awards and this year's winners, please read the full press release