NFPA announces new board of director members, re-elections, and a new position

Blog Post created by mikehazell Employee on Jun 4, 2017

Russell Leavitt, Chair of NFPA's Governance and Nominating Committee, presides over the election of new board members.


Jim Sullivan, Jeff Cash, and Roger Montembeault were elected to the NFPA board of directors during today's association’s annual Conference & Expo in Boston. The three-year term for each member takes effect upon the close of the conference.


Jim Sullivan is the president of IDG International Publishing Services, where he previously served as vice president of licensing, and as director of finance and administration. In 2013, he was elected a board member of FIPP, a network for global media that represents content-rich companies and individuals involved in the creation, publishing and/or sharing of quality content.


Jeff Cash is the fire chief and emergency manager for the City of Cherryville, North Carolina, Fire Department. He has been a member of the department since 1981, previously serving as a firefighter, driver engineer, captain and training officer. Cash serves as deputy executive director of the North Carolina Fire Chiefs Association, and as past president of the North Carolina State Firemen’s Association and the Western North Carolina Firemen’s Association. He also serves on the executive committee of the National Volunteer Fire Council, and is a member of the NFPA Technical Committee on Fire Officer Professional Qualifications.


Roger Montembeault is the consultant/owner of The Montembeault Group, Inc. He has previously served as president/owner of Flotronix Corporation; executive vice president of General Signal Corporation; vice president of sales and marketing for Peerless Pump Co.; and general manager for Goulds Pumps. Montembeault is currently a member of the NFPA Task Group on Connectivity (NFPA 20), and is a member of the Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE).


Two board members, Russ Leavitt and Eric Rosenbaum, were re-elected to a second term. Kwame Cooper, a retiring member of the board, was previously elected to serve as the assistant treasurer.