First joint AUBE ‘17/SUPDET® 2017 a success

Blog Post created by amandakimball Employee on Nov 10, 2017


The first joint conference AUBE ’17/SUPDET® 2017 was a success with more than 80 presentations and nearly 200 total participants. Thank you to all who attended and spoke at the conference!

Presentations over the three days in College Park, MD, focused on the latest development in research, technology, and applications for the fire protection community, and how they can be put to use by the fire protection community.


Following is a list of honorees who received awards for their paper submissions:

AUBE 2017 Best Paper Awards:
Markus Brune, Annika Gomell, Wilhelm Furian, Andreas Pflitsch
OFDR-Temperature Sensing Using Existing Fibre-Optic Communication Cables – An Application for Automatic Fire Detection?


Justin Geiman, Noah Ryder, Andre Marshall, Prateep Chatterjee
Developing a Fire Test Strategy for Storage Protection Under Slope Ceilings


SUPDET 2017 Ronald K Mengel Award (for best detection paper):
Matthes Dietrich, Markus Brüne, Sebastian Festag, Christian Knaust
Buoyancy driven flow in an underground metro station for different climate conditions – experimental and numerical investigation


SUPDET 2017 William M. Carey Award (for best suppression paper):
Zachary L. Magnone, Jeremiah Crocker, Pedriant Pena

Warehouse Protection of Exposed Expanded Group-A Plastics with Electronic Sprinkler Technology


We thank our sponsors for their support: Siemens, Viking, Kidde, NEMA, Victaulic, UL, Zurich, and Hekatron.


Be on the lookout for dates and location of SUPDET 2018.