History of the NEC-The NFPA Era Begins

File uploaded by mwearley Employee on May 24, 2016
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Today, I stumbled across an old NFPA publication from 1910-1911. I found this short article on the responsibility for the NEC being transferred to NFPA. The elected president of NFPA in 1911 was William Henry Merrill, who was president of Underwriters Laboratories. Merrill had also been an active participant at the first meeting of the NEC in March of 1896. The committee list includes Dana Pierce, who would later serve as chair of the committee and president of UL, and Vic Tousley, who would later serve  as secretary of the committee and as the first executive director of the International Association of Electrical Inspectors.