Blogs

rsolomon
Click to view content  I just returned from Paris this past Saturday after a week of meetings with the ISO committee that deals with Sustainable Cities and Communities.  Part of the goal of this committee is to look at a range of critical issues such as resilience, community risk reduction, smart city concepts and transportation options, and the ways in which we… (Show more)
in NFPA Today
jsisco
Click to view contentPhoto Courtesy of Andysmith248 [CC BY-SA 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)]   As a staff engineer I often get the question through our technical question service (TQS) if a smoke control system is required. Although there are a few times where NFPA 101®  prescribes the use of a smoke control system, for the most part it is a… (Show more)
in NFPA Today
kristinbigda
Click to view contentHello – Happy Friday!  Today’s post comes to you from Brian O'Connor, Fire Protection Engineer in the Fire Protection Systems Department, at NFPA.  Special thanks to Brian for his contribution to this blog while I am out on maternity leave, and discussing one of the many important subjects addressed in the Fire Code.   Looking for information on… (Show more)
in NFPA Today
faithberry
Click to view contentThe American Planning Association (APA) has just published a new report that is available at no cost to download (though users have to create a guest account and password to log in), thanks to the sponsorship of the USDA Forest Service as well as state and private forestry programs. The report specifically looks at the wildfire-related risks faced… (Show more)
in Fire Break
dvigstol