AnsweredAssumed Answered

Residential PV w/ battery backup disconnect requirements

Question asked by john.szelog on Jan 6, 2017
Latest reply on Jan 14, 2017 by cdafd

I'm a homeowner, installing a 3kw PV array with battery backup for a critical loads circuit in the house.  I've been an electronics tech for 23+ years and I did the electrical in my house when we built it, so I'm familiar with installing all the equipment, etc.  The new code requirements are what I have questions about.

I'm using grid-tied micro inverters downstream of a utility-interactive (not a grid-tie) battery-based inverter.

When the mains go down, the micro-inverters shut down like they're supposed to and the battery-based inverter disconnects from the mains.  The battery-based inverter then uses the batteries to start producing 240VAC for the critical loads circuit.  During the day, this enables the micro-inverters to come back online  to run the loads and keep the batteries charged (the battery-based inverter throttles the micro-inverters, for anybody wondering about it).  The batteries by themselves will have sufficient capacity to run my critical loads for ~10 hours, so it's not designed or sized to be a whole-house off-grid system.   

The PV array will be ground mounted behind the house, the battery-based inverter and the batteries will be in a cargo container behind the house (between the house and the array).

Power will be tied to the house via a subpanel in the house.  

The line from the subpanel in the house, the output from the PV array and the output from the battery-based inverter will all meet at a distribution panel in the cargo container.