AnsweredAssumed Answered

NFPA101(2012) Section 19.1.6.1 Contradictory language creating ambiguity or not?

Question asked by Akshay Talwar on May 3, 2017
Latest reply on May 4, 2017 by Akshay Talwar

NFPA 101 Life Safety Code (2012 edition) Section 19.6.1:

I am new to this organization and website so I might be duplicating a question I thought I was sending to the technical team at NFPA yesterday. I am hoping that I now reach a wider audience to this question (the technical team and peers)

Table 19.1.6.1 Construction type limitation:

I am analyzing the compliance needs of a healthcare facility. It is built on grade with a lower level and two upper floors. Both the lower level (basement) and the  next level up meet the definition of level of exit discharge each having at least two exits to grade. The lowest level also meets the technical definition of basement. 

I have consulted three professionals and there is conflict in their interpretation of the footnote section of this table and the method to be utilized to count the number of stories. Because the initial language in the footnote directs that the total number of stories to be counted starts with the level of exit discharge (also further defined as the lowest level of exit discharge), one view is that this overrides the other footnote to the effect that "Basements are not to be counted as stories". Read in this manner, the result is that I have a three story structure with my highest story therefore becoming a non-permitted use. 

The last footnote in this table has the language "Basements are not counted as stories" which if interpreted as over-riding the earlier footnote, results in my having a three floor structure, a basement with two floors above. 

This is my interpretation but one of the professionals believes that the Code is unclear with conflicting provisions.